Diamond Jubilee of Our Lady of the Pillar Monument in Baguio
Did you know that on ….
…. 2 February 1958 was the inauguration of the monument of Our Lady of the Pillar in front of Casiciaco Recoletos [later Seminario Mayor Recoletos, then Casiciaco Recoletos Seminary], at Naguilian Road, with the attendance of numerous devotees. The construction expenses of the Marian monument were shouldered by devout families from Baguio and Manila. The Jesuit priests of Novaliches likewise donated a substantial amount as their token of gratitude for the accommodation in Casiciaco given to their young scholastics. Donors worthy of mention too are the generous priests of San Sebastian College Manila, Colegio de San Jose in Cebu City and Augustinian Recollect parish priests in Negros Island. Then Prior Provincial Father Manuel Carceller of Zaragoza, Spain, donated the iconic stone image. The construction was done during the term of Father Esteban Tejedor as superior of Casiciaco Recoletos.
— Source: Cosas notables de Casiciaco Recoletos (1955-2008) p.3. Entry by Fr. Esteban Tejedor OAR, Baguio City 4 February 1958. Permission: CaReS Prior Fr. Bernard Amparado OAR